• Vidhan Bhawan

Vidhan Bhawan


The foundation stone of the grand building of the Council House (Vidhan Bhawan) in Lucknow was laid by the then Governor Sir Spencer Harcourt Butler on December 15, 1922 and the building was inaugurated on February 21, 1928.

The construction of the building was done by Messrs Martin and Co. The Chief Architects were Sir Swinon Jacob and Sri Heera Singh. At that time a sum of Rs 21 lakh was sanctioned for the building.It is one of the finest examples of Indo-European architectural craftsmanship of the twentieth century. The front part of this crescent shaped two storeyed structure is built with carved light brown sandstone blocks from Mirzapur (Chunar).

At the centre of the crescent is a large Gothic dome with an attractive “Chhatri” or sky light. Figures sculpted from stone blocks surround the facade of the dome. Above the tri-arched front of the portico is placed the State emblem (crest) carved in marble. Many of the inside halls, galleries and verandahs are built of Agra and Jaipur marble. Beautiful circular marble staircases run on both sides of the entrance hall. The walls of these staircases have now been embellished with beautiful paintings.

The dome shaped Chamber is octagonal and its circular roof is decorated in attractive inlay-work. Its unique features are the beautiful figures of dancing peacocks decorated at intervals on this roof. The sittings of the Legislative Assembly are held in this hall. There are large lobbies for Members on both sides of this hall.

In July, 1935 a proposal for construction of a new Chamber and office rooms for the new Legislative Council was made and the construction was entrusted to Messrs Ford and Macdonald. Under the supervision of the Public Works Department the extension was completed by Chief Architect A.L. Mortimer in 1937. The building of the Legislative Council is connected to the main Vidhan Bhawan building by verandahs with rooms on both sides. The sittings of the Legislative Council are held here.